Samuel Hubbard Scott Laureate Award

Hub Scott Award      Current Laureate      Medal Description      Current and Past Laureates

Established by the Ohio Society in 1979 the Samuel Hubbard Scott Laureate is the highest personal recognition bestowed by the Ohio Sons of the American Revolution. Presented at the Ohio Society's Annual Meeting in the second quarter of the calendar year, the award is presented to the Ohio Society Member who has worked continuously to promote the Ohio Society and its mission of historic, educational and patriotic recognition of the American Revolution. The recipient is chosen by all living Laureates who review the service of selected nominees.

The Ohio State SAR
2017 Hub Scott Laureate

James D. Schaffer

Pictured left to right: Terry A. Whetstone; Tony Robinson; Tim Ward; Paul M. Wilke; John H. Franklin; James D. Schaffer; James O. Fast; Steven R. Kelley; Larry Perkins

Ribbon Medal

The Laureate medal is gold-covered with a dark blue border and lighter blue center with sixteen stars arranged to form a larger seventeen star, which commemorates Ohio as the seventeenth state of the United States and the first state of the Northwest Territory. Around the dark blue border is lettered "Ohio Society - Sons of the American Revolution - Samuel Hubbard Scott Laureate." On the reverse, the recipient's name and year of presentation are engraved. The medal is suspended from a red and white neck ribbon representing the colors of Washington's personal life guard. It can be worn in tandem with the officer's neck ribbon.

The recipient's name is engraved on a name plate which is added to a traveling plaque displaying the medal and the names of all the Laureates.

The most recent recipient of the award is the chairman of the committee to select the new awardee. All other living recipients are automatically members of the selection committee.

The award is named for Samuel Hubbard Scott of Toledo, Ohio who exemplified the qualities of an outstanding compatriot - service, leadership, and dedication. He was a World War I Veteran. He became a member of the SAR in 1948 and was soon elected President of the Anthony Wayne Chapter. In 1958 he was recognized as National Society Minuteman. Scott was a member of the American Legion and was known for his patriotic flag displays known as the Mile of Flags. He never married. When he died in 1977 at age 86, his flag collection was passed to the Ohio Society to display and to educate the public.

Hub Scott Laureates 2013 from left to right: Tony Robinson, Paul Wilke, Dick Fetzer, Roger Jones, Larry Perkins, George Ruch (Deceased) , Tim Ward, John Franklin, Terry Whetstone, Charles Edwards (Deceased).

2013 Awardee George Ruch

Complete list of all Samuel Hubbard Scott Laureates from 1979 to Present

To view larger image or to print, click image below